top of page
  • serendipity-beauty0

Black Coral in my bladder


Lets continue my journey with bladder cancer but go back to the 26th October 2021 when I saw the tumour for the first time. Due to covid rules I had to go alone to see the consultant, lets just say I was very anxious and even more so when the wee sample I had to give was bright red. My trip to A&E made me already know there was something very wrong, and I say know, not just think! I have to say the actual camera into your wee pipe (consultants words) not mine was really not that bad. I had read some terrible stories and I'm not going to use all the big medical terms because frankly I can't remember them and I certainly cannot spell them! I just remember thinking, I know this is going to be bad news. Everything was done with such care and kindness, but when you look up at a screen and see what looks like a black piece of coral in your bladder you do think 'oh my god that should not be there'. The consultant was so kind and so were the nurses. I was in total shock and was told I would be contacted very soon as they needed to see what was really going on in my bladder with an operation. I walked out with the nurse and they did not mention cancer even though I had asked. I sat in my car and cried! I knew then it was cancer, no doubts at all. Tumours in the bladder are 99% cancer, I read that before even seeing it. I knew with the blood and the symptoms it was cancer but you don't want it to be and you still hope. I remember just crying and thinking please do not let the operation be when we are meant to be going on holiday.



We had our holiday to Barbados planned for two years and because of Covid like everyone else we could not go. Well we still did not go. I did receive the call a couple of days later and the operation was planned for the 16th November bang when we were going away. But you cannot think about holidays with coral living in your bladder, something you want to see living in the sea! You may think that is a bit of time 26th October to 16th November to wait, but there are blood tests, pre ops, Covid PCR tests, CT scans and self isolation which take up the couple of weeks before so just forget your holiday and forget your life as you are worried sick!


The operation on the 16th November went to plan and according to the registrar was a success. Again no mention of cancer even when asked, I was getting a bit worried about what was really going on. Now I do not blame the NHS, consultants, nurses or staff but to come home and read 'secondary cancer' on your discharge notes when you have not been told a thing about cancer and told the operation was a success, tumour removed was the biggest shock ever. Very tired after a sleepless night in hospital with tubes and pipes plus some weird device on your legs squeezing them every few minutes just meant I needed to sleep and not think about what was next.


Well if you have been reading my little blog you know what was next, it was Bladder cancer and had already spread to my lungs, bones and would you believe my right buttock. I count myself very lucky that as my oncologist said the cancer was very small, the one in my right buttock was 4 mm. I cannot help but think about Forrest Gump when I hear the word buttock as he was shot in the buttock.. Run Forrest run! The right lung the cancer was sub 1mm, how did they measure these tiny spots. So for me there is a treatment plan and there is a light at the end of the tunnel. I have cried a lot, I'm not that brave however, I am strong and a very positive person. So I keep reminding myself as I go through 12 rounds (6 cycles) of chemo, chemo story next blog that I'm in a good place, this is treatable and there are so many new drugs that can be used to keep my going. My team of nurses and everyone that supports me work so hard to make sure we get the best at the NHS.


Some days are worse than others, when eight hours of chemo in one go really takes its toll and you go back for another 2 hours the next week. Days when your blood count is too low for the treatment however, they just re book you in and you hope with some super green smoothies to keep going until the end of the treatment plan. Then look towards what is next! Hopefully a holiday!


I hate to just talk about cancer but my journey is about raising awareness and so I want to thank David Lloyd gyms (Beaconsfield) again for supporting my fightbladder cancer charity where Graham and Gloria Dare held a quiz night and raised £76 for the charity. Well done to the Hail Marys team who won and donated their winnings.

There is still the Paddleboard event on the 28th May at Hurley and you can still donate to the charity

I want to keep raising awareness and make sure we know not to ignore our bodies, remember 1 in 2 people will get some type of cancer. So let's keep going to keep raising money and support for those people that do have to join the cancer club. Let's face cancer with grace, gratitude to the teams that keep us alive and strength to fight this terrible decease.




181 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page