top of page
  • serendipity-beauty0

Pilates to Lattes

Hello again, and welcome to my 2nd blog. I know it is nearly a month ago but my 3 week chemo cycle consists of 2 lots of chemo and one is 8-10 hours long. It is pretty hard going being attached to a drip feeding chemicals into your body for that long, but I know it is my medicine so there to help me get better. Last Wednesday I could not have the chemo due too low white bloods cells, that is the 2nd time so I was pretty upset as I have to wait a week. I'm back in next Tuesday for my 7th round however, that was difficult as Easter break has meant they are very busy and getting me an appointment took 3 days to arrange. The nurses are just amazing and I cannot ask more from them and they managed to find me a space. I get very tired in the week after and so the sofa is the only thing calling me or my bed plus a bit of Bridgerton or Koreandrama, that is for another blog Lord Hastings!

My life before bladder cancer was very good, I really went from one fitness class to another with a latte in between and normally a friend to share it with over a nice chat! Now I go from one hospital appointment to another with no Pilates or even the latte as I have given up coffee, alcohol, curries and actually a lot of things I really like. What things you ask, I was never a very big drinker, I get drunk easily and only let myself have one coffee a day, as it makes me high! However, I loved seafood and shellfish the most, there were always prawns and mussels in my bridge and I do love a bit of grilled goats cheese but I can't eat them now and really you eat like you are pregnant. Have to be so careful to not get a bug, which is hard with Covid still around. The week I am off chemo I start to feel 50% normal again, OK I have never been normal I hear some of you say! That is when I walk, do a bit of yoga and Pilates, when I'm not too dizzy. The best thing however is seeing my friends and being able to go for an almond milk hot chocolate, I don't have cows milk any more (my choice) but I just can't give up chocolate. Being with my friends when I can really helps me stay positive and keeps me feeling that life is still normal even with cancer.


Less about the cancer, I will fill you in next time about the journey I took to chemo life, "the discovery of the black tumour" . I always want this blog to be positive, I don't want to tell people about the percentages and stats of my treatment, I want to raise awareness and with that in mind for those that are local to me I've arranged a fun raising paddleboard event. This is me on the board back in a lockdown, I can't remember which one but we were allowed to do some things and Pilates/yoga paddleboard was one. It was great fun and now for a fun raise

PaddleboardMaidenhead fun raising at Hurley Island:

Date Saturday 28th May

Time 12.30pm

2 Hours on the lovely river Thames

Price £60 includes board and equipment plus the lovely Instructors

£50 if you have your own board

Parking, instruction, and equipment all included in the price.

Here is the link to book direct: £30 from each booking will be donated to Fight Bladder Cancer. We can get up to 20 boards out so please book asap. The weather will be fine I'm sure and the river views are amazing:

Just click on the box and all details are there including your payment and confirmed places. Any questions Tara Crist Sutthoff can help or send me a message! I hope you can join us and I hope to be there too, maybe not on a board but watching you all have fun and a hot chocolate on me afterwards. I will be back soon and hope you will join me on this journey.






189 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page